Life – I Am Not, In Fact, Dead

Quite the opposite. I have, in fact, been writing like a fiend. Just not here, because I haven’t been getting paid to do it, and paying gigs have to, alas, come first.

I write this on the seventh day of being unemployed and trying to keep my head above water with a combination of freelance writing, temp jobs, and basically anything else I can get my hands on. It’s been…well, I’m not going to lie, I’ve basically spent the last few days on an enforced vacation and I’m getting a little too comfortable with it for my own good.

Unemployment, combined with freelance employment, creates this weird baffle around your world. Suddenly, there’s no compelling reason to leave the house. Sure, you’ve got stuff to do that’s a job: I just spent the last eight hours writing. But if you want to spend all day reading comic books, you can.

For those wondering, I’m supporting myself (somewhat) on the back of my various freelance gigs, or at least working those like dogs to keep the money coming in while I job hunt. I also pound out at least five resumes a day to various places. It’s been…unusual, to say the least.

Look for a few reviews in the next few days: specifically, “The Crazies”, which is a surprisingly good thriller and “The Friends of Eddie Coyle”, which is a noir as a series of meetings.

2 Responses to “Life – I Am Not, In Fact, Dead”

  1. Lucas M Says:

    Hope things work out for you. Seems like you’re doing pretty well. After all, you should put as much work into finding a job as if it were a job. Seems like you’re doing that to me.

  2. Hugh Guiney Says:

    I feel you buddy. I’m in the exact same boat: stopped shaving; Sunday was the first time I’ve socialized with people in months; my time is divided solely between the TV and the computer… I also agree that it’s far too easy to get distracted when you’re your own boss. One minute I’ll be working on my portfolio, the next I’ll have 50 tabs worth of blog articles open… like this one…

    Eh, well, here’s to both of us getting money at some point in the near future!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

